That’s What Faith Can Do!

I had a wonderful church family and home at Wood County Baptist Church, just south of Bowling Green.  I was a member there for the past 2 1/2 years, not just a member, I was a part of the music ministry team there, as well.  We had a wonderful time “doing music” every Sunday morning.  I played the keyboard and added harmonies to Dale’s melodies and we had a great chemistry and bond. Dale was extremely patient with my very slow decision process in choosing a song to sing, he would even duet with me at the last second. It was truly a blast!

In February I made the very difficult decision to step down from my position and leave the church due to my insanely busy schedule and the fact that I had been tired for the past six months!  Little did I know what truly was the culprit for my fatigue!

Since my diagnosis on March 1st, I had promised to visit WCBC and sing again… I had no idea IF or WHEN that might ever occur, but in my heart, I truly wanted it to happen.  Well, last Friday I received a phone call from Pastor Dave, he was calling to let me know that his last service there would be yesterday and wanted to know if I was up to singing. I really did not think about the question long before I responded that I would truly try to come and sing for his last day there!  I had a song chosen and I rehearsed it this weekend and even practiced it in front of my Mom and Aunt Deb.  They reassured me that it sounded good.  I knew my voice was strong enough, I knew I was willing to sing, I knew in my mind that I WANTED to sing, so, what was the problem then?  The words to the song were eating at me, I was NOT going to get up and sing these words if I did not mean them from the bottom of my heart.

“Everybody falls sometimes, gotta’ find the strength to rise, from the ashes and make a new beginning. Anyone can feel the ache, you think it’s more than you can take, but you are stronger, stronger than you know. Don’t you give up now, the sun will soon be shining, You gotta face the clouds to find the silver lining.  I’ve seen dreams that move the mountains, hope that doesn’t ever end, even when the sky is falling, I’ve seen miracles just happen, silent prayers get answered, broken hearts become brand new, that’s what faith can do! It doesn’t matter what you’ve heard, impossible is not a word, it’s just a reason for someone not to try. Everybody’s scared to death, when they decide to take that step, out on the water, but it will be alright. Life is so much more, than what your eyes are seeing, you will find your way, if you keep believing! I’ve seen dreams that move the mountains, hope that doesn’t ever end, even when the sky is falling, I’ve seen miracles just happen, silent prayers get answered, broken hearts become brand new, that’s what faith can do!  Overcome the odds, when you don’t have a chance, when the world says you can’t, it’ll tell you that you CAN!”

Image result for images of faith

This Kutless song has been an inspiration to me for a long time and now, more than ever, I see what faith can do!  I am thankful to say, my parents were gracious enough to drive me to Bowling Green and I was able to STAND up front (not sit) and sing the words to this song and mean them with all of my heart and soul!  That is absolutely a GOD thing! My own strength would have told me to stay home and rest up for double chemo this week, but when the world says I can’t, faith tells me that I CAN!!!  What are you facing this week? I hope that the lyrics to this song can permeate your heart and soul like they did mine and bring you through whatever challenges may come your way because THAT’S WHAT FAITH CAN DO!

I'm sending this out to Tameka Raymond and her son Kyle.  This is for any parent watching over their child in a hospital bed praying for a miracle.  Remember God is in control... always, even if we don't understand. lmw

 

Leave a Reply

