I Have to be Quiet in Order to Listen

Last night, thanks to my steroid from my pre-meds during chemo yesterday, I could NOT sleep! I mean, I was WIDE AWAKE from 11:30 until 4:00 a.m.  I tried everything, watching HGTV which was too interesting to close my eyes, then I went to the Big Ten Network where college baseball re-runs were on… I watched the entire Indiana Hoosiers vs Louisville Cardinals men’s baseball replay from yesterday. If anyone is interested, Indiana upset  #2 ranked Lousiville 4-3, but really, THAT did not put me to sleep?  Then I tried music, my Pandora radio stations of various genres from Disney movies to Michael Buble, to Kenny G, all the way to Hair Band Ballads… again, WIDE AWAKE!  Finally, I turned everything off, it was approaching 5:00 at this point, everything was quiet.

Suddenly, in the most quiet time, I heard the birds outside, I am serious when I say it was like an orchestra of our feathered friends joining together in perfect harmony!  It was the most beautiful and soothing sound I had heard all night, guess what?  I fell asleep!  Now, granted, the birds had probably not been in their full on choir practice for very long, it is amazing that I had to turn everything off and sit in the silence before I could hear the peaceful melodies of the birds in the backyard that ultimately sang me to sleep.

Image result for images of birds singing in the early morning

Image result for images of birds singing in the early morning

So many days are like that for me, I have to learn to be quiet more often.  I need to turn off the noise of the day, worries of the moment, and just listen, listen for the peaceful melodies that are there if I just slow down and quiet down enough to hear them.  I hope that in the business of this time of year with graduations, WEDDINGS, birthdays, holidays and so many others things that can clutter our minds and make our days so hectic, we will all take at least a moment out of our days to just be still, be quiet, and listen for the answers that lie in the silence.

Image result for images of being still and listening

Have a wonderful Wednesday, God bless you and love to you all!

Image result for images of being still and listening

2 thoughts on “I Have to be Quiet in Order to Listen

  1. Love this!!! And I love your insight! This is a great reminder for all of us. Stay strong, sweet friend, you’ve got this!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

